Papillion, NE: Papillion Manor Public Relations Coordinator Jenny Janovich Named Volunteer of the Year

Jenny Award

Tobacco Free Sarpy Honors Community Members

Tobacco Free Sarpy (TFS) held its annual luncheon at CHI Health Midlands to recognize community leaders who have taken leadership roles in creating healthier, safer tobacco-free environments.

Community leaders, policy makers, coalition members and volunteers were led by Master of Ceremonies Karen Gibler, Sarpy County Chamber of Commerce President. Keynote speaker, Tunette Powell, addressed the importance of long-term policy change in tobacco prevention and control, as well as changing social norms around tobacco use.

TFS upheld its tradition of recognizing leaders who support the mission and goals of the coalition. Those recognized include:

TFS Partners of the Year: La Vista Police Department, Officer Jamie Brown, Bellevue Police Department, Officer Carl Grubb and Sarpy County Sheriff’s Department, Curtis Rainge.
TFS Volunteer of the Year: Jennifer Janovich, Papillion Manor
TFS Business of the Year: Sarpy County
Outdoor Recreational Facility of the Year; Sarpy County Fair Board.
Multi-Family Housing of the Year: Harrison Hills.
Tobacco License Holder of the Year: La Vista Walmart Neighborhood Market.

“Without community partners, TFS could not achieve the goals we have set to make Sarpy County a healthier and safer place by creating tobacco free environments,” said McKinsey Mulroy, Coordinator of Tobacco Free Sarpy. “Slowly and surely we are changing the social norm around public tobacco use with the help of those recognized today, one policy at a time.”

Tobacco Free Sarpy is a coalition of health-related organizations, educational and community groups, and individuals.  For more information, visit